Tips

What Happens When You Temporarily Disable Instagram?

Instagram is a great way to spend your free time checking out food videos and woodworking ones. But if you find that you are spending too much time on the app, you may consider temporarily disabling it to help you focus better. In this article, we will cover what happens when you temporarily disable your Instagram account.

Why would you temporarily disable your Instagram account?

There is no denying that the amount of time we spend on the social media app has pretty much doubled since the pandemic hit. Some people have noticed that they are less productive when they keep getting notifications from Instagram. Temporarily disabling your account is a good way to keep the distractions at bay, while still keeping your account intact.

Another reason people disable their account is simply lack of engagement on the platform. If you are not going to be using your account for a while it is better to disable it rather than leave it idle. We will explain why in the sections below.

Related: Top 2 ways to See Who Unfollowed You On Instagram

What happens when you temporarily disable your Instagram account?

Disabling your account is basically saying that you do not want to use Instagram for the time being. Users disable their accounts so that they can keep their information intact and not have to worry about likes and comments.

When you disable your account, your account essentially disappears off Instagram. This means your followers can no longer find you. In fact, no one can find you. If a user searches for your username, your account will not show up in the search results.

Related: How to stop people from mentioning you on Instagram

Since your account is removed from the app database, Followers count for the accounts that you follow will drop by one. If they search for your account in their followers (or following) list, they will not find it. When you re-enable your account, their followers’ count will automatically go up by one. Since users cannot find your account on the app, they cannot unfollow you. This is a major reason why users disable their accounts instead of leaving them idle.

When you temporarily disable your account, Instagram backs up all your content to its server. This means you do not lose any personal information or uploaded content.

Related: Best Instagram Stories Viewer And Saver Apps And Websites

What happens to DMs when you temporarily disable your Instagram account?

Well, nothing really. Since all your data is backed up when you temporarily disable your account, your DMs remain intact, just as they were the moment you hit the button. You cannot receive or send out DMs though once you temporarily disable your account.

If a user that once sent you a message tries to message you once your account has been temporarily disabled, they will notice that your account name has changed to ‘Instagrammer’. They can still send messages normally, but those messages will not get delivered. Users can still read your old messages in their DMs even if you temporarily disabled your account.

Related: How to turn off Instagram DMs

What does your account look like when you temporarily disable it?

While your account will not show up in searches, there is still a way for users to reach your account. Accounts that you have sent DMs to can tap on your profile in the conversation to be directed to your now-disabled account.

Your account will say ‘No Posts Yet‘ even though the post count at the top may show that you have posted. This looks quite similar to what happens when you block someone on Instagram.

Related: How To Find Out Who Blocked You On Instagram

What about tags, comments, and likes?

When you temporarily disable your account, all your comments and likes will disappear from content on Instagram. So if you commented on a post, that comment will simply disappear. The same goes for likes too.  But don’t worry, everything will return once you log back in!

Your friends will not be able to mention you in the comments. If they try to @ your username, the account will not appear. Similarly, they will not be able to tag you in photos.

Related: How to copy Instagram captions and comments

How often can you temporarily disable your Instagram account?

You can temporarily disable your Instagram account as many times as you like, as long as it is only once per week. Instagram only lets you temporarily disable your account one per week. The option will be unavailable if you have temporarily disabled your account within the past seven days. This is a privacy setting to prevent people from using fake accounts.

Related: How to stop people from mentioning you on Instagram

How long can your Instagram account be disabled?

You can keep your Instagram account temporarily disabled for as long as you want without fear of losing your personal information. Previously, Instagram would automatically reactivate your account after one week. However, they seem to have dropped that function and now let you keep your account temporarily disabled indefinitely.

Related: How to stop being added to groups on Instagram

How to reactivate your temporarily disabled account

Reactivating your account is as simple as logging back in with your Instagram credentials. While you can only temporarily disable your account using the Instagram website, you can reactivate your account from any device.

Well, now you know what happens when you temporarily disable your Instagram account. If you have any queries, feel free to reach out to us in the comments below.

Related: