Instagram has been around for long enough that many of us have some really old embarrassing photos on there. Posts that you once thought were ‘cool’ or ‘current’ still live on your Instagram profile for everyone to come across. Luckily there is a way to keep these posts while still hiding them from your followers. Archiving helps you to do just that. In this article, we will cover what happens when you archive posts on Instagram.
How to archive a post on Instagram
You can easily archive a post on your profile so that it is no longer visible to the public. You can archive images, videos, and even Instagram Stories. Follow this simple guide below to learn how to archive a post on Instagram.
Launch the Instagram app, and locate the post that you would like to archive from your profile. Now tap the three dots at the top right corner of the post and select ‘Archive’.
What happens when you archive a post on Instagram?
The archive option is usually used to hide something on your profile, but still hold on to it. When you archive a post on Instagram. the first thing that you notice is that it immediately disappears. If it does not, simply refreshing the page will do the trick.
Archived posts are saved to the Instagram servers. Although they do not appear on your profile page, they are still accessible for you to view. We will cover how to view your archived posts below. These posts are saved intact; that means all the likes and comments on the posts are preserved when you archive them. Your followers will no longer be able to view or interact with your archived posts. Archiving posts preserves the date they were posted too.
How long can you keep a post archived?
There is no limit to how long you can keep your posts archived on Instagram. Archived posts can only be viewed by you. Unlike Drafts, Archived posts are actually posted to your account before being sent to the archive. You can un-archive a post at any time to send it back to your profile.
Who can view archived posts?
Archived posts can only be viewed by you (or the person who archived them). You can only archive posts from your own profile. These posts will remain on the Instagram servers and stay linked to your profile. You can access your archived posts on any device (as long as you are using the mobile app) by simply signing in to your Instagram account.
What happens to tagged photos that are archived?
If you archive a post that has other users tagged in it, the post will disappear from the other user’s ‘Tagged’ section too. Users that are tagged will not be notified if you archive a post. However, they might find out if they check their Tagged photos and discover that the post is no longer there. When you un-archive a post that has users tagged, the post will reappear for the tagged users as well.
How to access your archived posts on Instagram
You can easily access all your archived posts in one place. These posts are only visible to you and no one else. You can only access your archived posts on the mobile app.
To view your archived posts on the Instagram mobile app, sign in with your Instagram account, and go to your profile by tapping the profile button in the bottom right corner.
Now tap the hamburger menu in the top right corner and select ‘Archive’.
Your archived posts are listed by the date they were created, not when they were archived.
Does archiving Instagram posts affect engagement?
Archiving basically hides your selected content from your followers. While the content isn’t visible, the metrics are still applied to your account. Archiving preserves the likes and comments on the post, so it does not affect your engagement metrics when you archive certain posts.
That being said, archiving popular posts will affect your engagement on that post, since users will no longer be able to access it to like, comment, or share it on Instagram.
Do archived Instagram posts get deleted?
No. Archived posts will never be deleted by Instagram. Archived posts still belong to you and are tied to your account. So no matter how long you leave a post archived, it will still be waiting for you when you get back to it.
Do archived posts show up on Instagram Feed?
No. Once archived your post will no longer show up on your followers’ Instagram Feeds. However, if you recently uploaded the post and the user’s internet isn’t good enough, the Instagram Feed may not update in time for it to be removed. As soon as the Feed is refreshed, though, the archived posts will disappear.
What happens when you un-archive a post?
When you archive a post, it retains its creation date. This is so that when you repost the archived post, it can go back to the spot it was in on your profile grid. When you un-archive a post on Instagram, it will return to its previous position on your profile grid, and not move to the top like a new post,
Un-archived posts will not appear in your followers’ Feeds as new posts do. So un-archiving will not increase the engagement on your account. When you in-archive a post, all your comments and likes are restored to what they were when you archived it. People can now once again start liking and commenting on the post.
We hope this article helped. If you have any queries, feel free to reach out to us in the comments below.