What Happens When You Delete Your Instagram Account?

As Social Media platforms like Instagram gained tremendous precedence over the last decade, our lives also began to get tangled deeper with the virtual. While many GenXers and older GenYers began focusing on creating and maintaining an online presence, seeing both professional and personal value in this activity, our children and young Gen Xers don’t even require any kind of intent. This is the norm for them now.

The point is that the line between real and virtual has been steadily disappearing over the past decade. While there are those who have not just accepted but are also thriving in this new world, there are those of us who are simply not cut out for this. Because for all the good that it’s doing, Social Media is also extremely addictive and not everyone is cut out for it.

With users looking for an out by deleting their accounts and thus living an Instagram free life, we would like to make this transition to a social media-free life easier. So now that you’ve left Instagram, here’s everything there is to know about what happens once you delete your Instagram Account.

Related: Instagram Message Update: How to Change Chat Color Theme on Instagram

What happens to my account once it has been deleted?

After you’ve clicked/tapped the Permanently delete my account button, you will not be able to log in to your Instagram account again.

In simple terms, the deletion of your Instagram account is the equivalent of digital death. Once you’ve done so, your entire Instagram presence will disappear.  According to Instagram the posts, photos, videos, comments, likes, and most importantly, followers will be permanently gone and won’t be recoverable ever again after the thirty-day grace period, at least through your account.

But just because the process has ended from your end, it does not imply that the deletion process is over. Instagram requires up to 90 days to completely delete all of your data and in the meanwhile, no other user will be able to see or access your profile either.

Even after the 90 day period, a copy of all your information will still be stored in Instagram’s backup server in case it’s required for legal issues, violation of terms and conditions, or harmful prevention efforts. However, you will still not be able to retrieve your account or any of its contents.

Related: What Happens When You Temporarily Disable Instagram?

Can I create a new account from the same email address?

You must wait till thirty days (or ninety if Instagram requires the time) to be able to create a new account from the same email address. Till then, the account will still belong to your current Instagram id.

Once the thirty days have passed, you will be able to use your email id to create an entirely new account. Keep in mind that you won’t be able to use your old Instagram profile name for the new account.

Related: Is There Any Way To See How Many Times Someone Views Your Instagram Story?

Can I reuse/retrieve the deleted Instagram Account?

Despite how absolute the action of deleting one’s account is, should you have a moment of regret or panic and wish to return, Instagram has kept a small window open for you with the thirty-day grace period that we mentioned above.

If you want to reuse/retrieve the deleted Instagram Account, then launch the app on your phone and log in with your id and password. Instagram will inform you that you can take back the account which basically means the account will become active again. Take it back should you need to do so.

Related: Sugar daddy Instagram scam: What is it and how to avoid it?

How to delete an Instagram Account

Instagram does not provide the provisions required to delete an account within the app. However, you can use the browser on your phone or desktop, tap on this link to go to the Delete Your Account page.

The link will take you to the Log-In page in case you haven’t logged in from the browser. Add the Log-in details of the Instagram Account that you wish to delete from the browser.

Once you have logged in, you will be directed to the Delete My Account page. Tap the section which will ask you the reason for deleting your Account.

Tap on any one of the reasons that will be shown by Instagram.

You will go back to the main page now. Here, scroll till you reach the section that requests the account password and type in your password.

Once you’ve done this, scroll down till you arrive at the red Permanently delete my account button. Tap on it. Instagram will confirm once again, select OK. Your account will now be deleted.


Take your time and make sure that you’ve thought it through before deleting your Instagram Account. The only thing that we can assert is that deleting your Instagram account is not the end of the world and it’s certainly not as bad as it may appear to be. Do what you need to do and take care of yourself.

RELATED

Posted by
Rose

A helpful heart with a writer's soul and a serious case of nerdy brains. Pleased to meet you and welcome to my realm <3

1 Comment

  1. i have a question regarding deleting my account on instagram. Once I delete my account, are all the conversations with messages deleted? To be more precisie, if I have a conversation with a friend and I said something, after I delete the account is my friend still able to see the conversations we had or is t also deleted an no longer visible for him too?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *