Tips

How To Delete Reactions On Facebook On Phone And PC

On the social playground of Facebook, reactions sometimes let you communicate better than words. Or do they? Facebook lets you react to posts and even the comments on those posts. But what if you sent your friend a reaction by mistake? Can you delete your reaction? Will they know that you did? Here is everything you need to know about removing reactions on Facebook.

What are Reactions on Facebook?

When words fail you (or you simply aren’t in the mood to comment), reactions come to your rescue. These reactions employ emojis to help you convey how you feel without having to actually write it out. Facebook lets you react to both posts as well as comments in quite the same way. There is a fixed set of 7 emojis that you can choose from for your reaction; Like, Love, Care, Haha, Wow, Sad, and Angry. These emojis cannot be changed or replaced.

Related: How to change the emojis on Snapchat [May 2020]

On posts, reactions appear below the post, while on comments they appear beside them. Reactions are visible to anyone who can react to them. So if you can react to a post, you can view the people that reacted to it too.

Related: How to react with emojis on Zoom

How to delete reactions on Facebook

While reactions are a really cool way to express your opinion, sometimes they aren’t on purpose. Or you could react with a wrong emoji on a post, and immediately regret it. But don’t worry! There is a way to delete that reaction. Read on to find out how.

On PC

It is (literally) the easiest thing in the world to delete a reaction on the Facebook website. All you have to do is locate the post or comment that you reacted on, then click on the reaction to remove it. That’s it!

As soon as you click on your reaction, the reaction will disappear. This works for both posts as well as comments on the Facebook website.

On mobile app

The Facebook mobile app employs the same approach when it comes to deleting reactions. All you have to do is locate the post or comment that you reacted on, and then tap on the reaction. Tapping the reaction will immediately remove it from the post or comment.

Will the person be notified if I delete my reaction?

While Facebook does notify you when you receive a reaction on a post or comment, there is no notification for a reaction being deleted. So if you manage to get lost in the sea of reactions, the person may never tell that you deleted your reaction.

That being said, Facebook does let you view who reacted to your post. So if the person saw that you reacted, and then checked again once you removed it, they will know that you deleted your reaction.

How to change a reaction on Facebook?

If you went to ‘like’ a post but instead ended up using the angry react, you don’t need to delete your reaction. You can simply change it! Here is how you can change your reaction on a Facebook post or comment.

On PC

Changing your reaction on the Facebook website is the same as reacting. Locate the post that you have reacted on and hover your mouse over the reaction. Now simply click on the new reaction that you would like to use. This will replace your previous reaction with the new one.

On mobile app

To change your reaction on the Facebook mobile app, first, locate the post or comment that you have reacted to.

Now tap and hold on the reaction. This will bring up a list of reactions to choose from.

Select the reaction that you would like to change to and tap on it. This will replace your original reaction.

Well, now you know how to delete and change reactions on Facebook! If you have any queries, feel free to reach out to us in the comments below. 

Related: