Tips

What Happens When You Block Someone On TikTok?

TikTok is a great place to flaunt your creativity and socialize. The app has a huge user base of over 500 million users! But with TikTok fame comes the trolls. Luckily TikTok lets you block accounts that you do not want to interact with. In this article, we will cover what happens when you block someone on TikTok.

Why you may have to block anyone on TikTok?

The block function on TikTok is very useful. It lets you stop an account from interacting with you. This is a great way to shut down trolls or random commenters on your posts. Additionally, if you want to keep your posts public, but want to hide it from certain accounts, you can do so by blocking them!

Related: How to add text on TikTok videos at different times?

What happens when you block an account on TikTok?

When you block an account on TikTok, you will immediately get a notification that the user can no longer message you. The account will be added to your blocked list. This means they can no longer send you messages. In fact, once you block an account they cannot look up your profile at all.

Related: How to ghost comment on TikTok?

If the user types your account name into the search bar, they will not receive any hits. The blocked user cannot view any of the content posted on your account, even if it is public. If they commented on a video of yours, and use the notification to visit the video, they will be met with a message that says ‘You cannot view this user’s videos due to their privacy settings’.

Additionally, they will not be able to message you. So there is no way for the blocked account to contact you once you block them.

Related: What is ‘Connected to you’ on TikTok?

Will they be notified when you block them?

No, TikTok does not notify the user when you block them. They will immediately be added to your blocked list on the app. If you unblock the user at a later point though, you will need to add them back as a Friend.

How to find out if you have been blocked on TikTok?

As mentioned above, TikTok does not notify the user when they are blocked. However, there are a few ways that you can tell that you have been blocked on the app.

1. Search for the user

Try searching for the user in the discover section. You will need to input the complete user name. If the search does not come up with the account, then chances are they have blocked you.

2. Look for comment notification

If you commented on their post, look for a notification about the same. Click the notification to be directed to the post. If you cannot view the post and receive a notification saying ‘You cannot view this user’s videos due to their privacy settings’, that means you have been blocked.

3. Check your followers list

Finally, the best way to find out if you have been blocked is to check your Followers list. Search for the profile in your Followers list. If they do not appear, it could mean that they have blocked you.

Related: How To Get Rid Of Best Friends On Snapchat

Can a blocked user still contact you on TikTok?

No. Once you block an account, there is no way for that user to contact you on the app. The only way they can contact you is by using another app. Blocking a user removes their ability to message you, comment on your posts, or even view your profile altogether.

Can a blocked user view your comments?

No, once you block a user they can no longer see your comments and likes on other videos. This works the other way around too. You will no longer be able to see their comments and likes. If you unblock them at some point, you will be able to view past comments on videos.

Well, now you know what happens when you block someone on TikTok. You can rest assured that they will not be able to interact with your account at all. If you have any queries, feel free to reach out to us in the comments below.

Related: