While we hope this never happens to you, aren’t we all just a little bit curious as to what happens when you block someone on Snapchat? For whatever reason it might be, you never get to see the other side of it. Can they still contact you? Can they view your stories?
Well, we are here to put your curiosity to rest. So let’s dive in and find out what really happens when you block someone on Snapchat.
What happens when you block someone on Snapchat?
Alright, let’s get into it. Here is what happens when you block someone on Snapchat. Remember, to block someone, they do not have to be in your Friends list (we cover this later), but for the sake of these scenarios, we will assume that the person was already in your friend list.
You will not receive snaps from them
As mentioned above, when a person is blocked, their chat page remains the same. This also means that they can technically send you messages. However, you will not receive those messages. While on the side of the blocked person they will simply show as unread, you will not receive any notification of the chats being sent to you at all.
Similarly, if a blocked person sends you a snap, it will show up as delivered on their side. However, you will not receive a notification of the same. This feature helps protect the blocker by not letting the blocked person know that they have been blocked.
They can still view your snaps
Now that we know that the Snap will go through even if the person is blocked, the question arises whether blocking a person will cause an unopened Snap to be deleted. Unfortunately, the answer is no. Even if the snap is unopened when the person gets blocked, they can still open and view the snap. This is a bit unintuitive since you probably wouldn’t want a blocked person to view your snap.
However, once the snap expires (after 24 hours) they will no longer be able to view that snap.
Sent messages or snaps will not go through
Building on the above scenario, the blocked person has messaged you after you have blocked them. If you were to unblock them at some point, the sent message will not be delivered to you. While on the blocked person’s side it will remain unread, you will not receive the message.
Similarly, if the blocked person sent you a snap while they were booked, the snap will not be visible to you once you unblock them. While on the blocked person’s side it will remain unread, you will have no notification of the person having sent you a snap at all even if it has not yet expired.
Can you see old saved messages?
As mentioned above, when you unblock a person, you will first need to add them back to your friend list. If you do not, you will not be able to communicate with them. This is because blocking a person automatically unfriends them too.
Once you have added them back as a friend, you can open up a chat with them. All saved messages will still be available as if the person had never been blocked at all.
Will they know?
No, Snapchat does not send any notification to the person that is blocked. This is a privacy function that protects the blocker. As mentioned above, even if the blocked person tries to send you a chat message or snap, it will go through as if they are not blocked.
The only way a person can tell if they have been blocked is if they open your chat and notice that you haven’t opened any of their messages or snaps in a while.
They cannot add you back
No. If you have blocked a person, they cannot tell that they have been blocked. This means that you are still in their friend list, even though they are not in yours. There is no option available to add a person again if they are already in your friend list.
The only way to add that blocked person back to your friend list is to unlock them and then send them a friend request. Even if you unblock them, they will not be able to send you a friend request themself.
Blocked person will be removed from your best friends
When you block a person, your interaction with them is immediately brought down to zero. Best friends and Snapstreaks rely on interaction to rank your friendships. Since your interaction is reduced to zero, the blocked person will automatically be removed from your Best Friends.
If you unblock the person and re-friend them, you will have to start your interaction back from scratch. This means you will not be able to maintain your previous Snapstreaks if you had them.
You won’t get screenshots notifications
Unfortunately, you do not get notified if a blocked person screenshots your chats. While the notification that they have screenshot will appear on the blocked person’s side, you will not get any notification.
Additionally, even if you unblock them and re-add them to your Friends list, you will not see if they have screenshot any conversations.
Chats will be deleted for you but not for them
This is probably the most asked question. When you block a user on Snapchat, they are completely removed from your account. This means that even their chat will disappear. If you look through your chats page, you will notice that there isn’t any trace of the person.
However, the person who is blocked sees no such thing. In fact, on their side, the chats look exactly as they were, with no change. Saved chats are still visible by the person who is blocked, irrespective of who saved them.
Can you unsend a snap by blocking?
Snapchat uses cloud servers while sending snaps. This means as soon as you hit send your snap is uploaded to the Snapchat server. This is why there is no way to unsend a snap once you hit send.
Similarly, if you send a snap and then block the person, the blocked person will still receive the snap as if nothing happened. They can open and view the snap too, even if they are blocked. However, they will not be able to Snapback.
Can you block someone who is not in your Friends list?
Yes, interestingly you can block a person even if they are not in your Friends list. However, for this to work, you will need to change who can contact you to ‘Everyone’ (if you haven’t already).
To do so, launch the Snapchat app and tap on your Bitmoji avatar on the top left corner to go to your profile. Now tap on the Settings icon in the top right corner.
Under the ‘Who can…’ section tap ‘Contact me’ and set it to ‘Everyone’.
Now use the search button to look up the person that you would like to block. Tap on the person’s username to open their profile.
Now tap the three dots in the top right corner. Select ‘Block’ from the popup menu.
What’s the difference between Block and Remove?
First off, when you block a person they are automatically unfriended too. This means, to add them to your friend list again you have to send them a friend request which they must accept. Blocking a person will remove their chats as well as their contact from your account. You will not be able to look each other up using the search button.
‘Remove friend’ on the other hand simply unfriends the person. Their contact is removed from your account. You can always add them back and the person can search for your account.
Like blocking, when you remove a person from your list, their chat disappears from your account too. However, on the other person’s account, they can still view your chat and all saved messages. If you add the person back as a friend, all saved messages will be returned as if you never unfriended them at all.
How to block someone on Snapchat
Blocking a user on Snapchat is extremely easy. Snapchat has purposely kept the option right upfront to better help with privacy issues. You can block a person from the chats page or from your contacts list (if you have not had any conversation with them). Check out the two methods below.
To block a person from the chats page, launch the Snapchat app and swipe right from the camera page.
Tap and hold on the conversation of the person you would like to block. In the pop-up menu select More > Block.
To block a person from your contacts, launch the Snapchat app, and tap on your Bitmoji avatar at the top left corner of the screen. Go to ‘My Friends’ to view all your contacts.
Tap and hold on the username of the person you would like to block. In the pop-up menu select More > Block.
What happens when you unblock someone on Snapchat?
When you unblock a person that you previously blocked, you will no longer have that person in your Friends list. That means you will have to add them again. The person will get a notification when you send them a friend request and will need to accept it to be added to your friend list.
Also, when you unblock them, they can find your username if they search for you on Snapchat (which they couldn’t do when blocked).
Well, there you have it. Now you know what happens if you block someone on Snapchat. If you have any queries, feel free to reach out to us in the comments below.