When to comes to social media services, Snap Inc-owned Snapchat sits proudly in the front row. It may not be as popular as Facebook or Twitter, but its unique, snazzy outlook is cherished by many across the globe. Snapchat’s peppy and “colorful” attire is indeed an attention-grabber, but it also can pretty annoying if you grow out of the “hip” Snapchatter phase.
Whether it’s the worn-out flashy look or the incessant Snaps, the proposition of uninstalling Snapchat is rather real. Unfortunately, every thought of a uninstall also carries the lingering Fear Of Missing Out on something great in the world of Snaps. If you’re amid such a dilemma, allow this piece to guide you. Read on to learn what happens when you uninstall the Snapchat app.
- Difference between uninstalling the app and deleting your Snapchat account
- What happens when you uninstall Snapchat?
- How to get Snapchat back
Difference between uninstalling the app and deleting your Snapchat account
Before we start discussing what you might or might not miss after deleting your account, let’s check out how it differs from deleting your Snapchat account altogether.
When you hit the uninstall button on your mobile, the space that Snapchat was occupying on your mobile’s internal storage gets freed up. And that’s pretty much it. Since your account data isn’t stored locally — but on a far away Snapchat server — uninstalling the app won’t harm your account data.
Deleting your Snapchat account, on the other hand, is a lot more serious than a simple uninstall. When you delete your Snapchat account — and don’t go back in 30 days — all data related to your account gets wiped for good. Your friends won’t be able to find you on Snapchat and all the memories you may have saved over the years would be kicked off the server.
Deleting your Snapchat account is an irreversible process while deleting the Snapchat app isn’t.
What happens when you uninstall Snapchat?
Now that you know the subtle yet important differences between uninstallation and deactivation, let’s check out what really happens when you decide to bid Snapchat adieu.
Will your friends be removed when you delete the app?
As discussed in the previous section, deleting Snapchat is a reversible process. So, whenever you decide to reinstall the app and log in to your original account, all information — including friends — would rush back in. Rest assured that your friend list would remain intact if you ever decide to make a grand comeback.
Related: Can You Have Two Snapchat Accounts?
What happens to your Snapstreaks when you delete the app?
Snapchat, technically, falls in the same category as the leader of the segment, Facebook. However, there are quite a few aspects that make the Snap machine stand out; Snapstreaks being one of them. In simple terms, Snapstreaks are the standard metric of communication between you and your friends. After you exchange Snaps with a friend for three consecutive days, the Snapstreak metric comes alive. To keep it going, you must exchange at least one Snap — send and receive — within a 24-hour window, with the friend you’re maintaining your Streak with.
When you uninstall the app, you lose the ability to send Snaps to your friends. Your friends can still send you Snaps, of course, but the Streak would go for a toss as it is a two-way street. If you care about your Snapstreaks, uninstalling the app won’t do you any good.
Related: How To Play Snap Games
What happens to Snapchat Memories when you delete Snapchat?
Avid Snapchatters tend to save their favorite Snaps and Stories for multiple viewings, sharing, and safekeeping. They do so with the help of a Snapchat feature called Memories. If you happen to be one of the many Snapchatters to use this feature, it’s natural to be concerned about its whereabouts after you hit the ‘Uninstall’ button. Fortunately, Snapchat takes special care of the Memories you store and makes sure they are available when you log back in to your Snapchat account. Since local data is completely wiped, it might take a little while for you to get up and running again.
Can your friends see your location after you delete the app?
If you choose to share your location on Snap Map with friends during the initial setup, your friends are allowed to view your location in real-time whenever you use the app. If you uninstall Snapchat, the application would lose the privilege of accessing the GPS — and the current location — of your mobile phone, which means that your friends would not get to see your current whereabouts on Snapchat’s Snap Map.
Related: How To Change Snapchat Location
Can someone look you up on Snapchat after you delete the app?
In the first subsection of the article, we talked about the differences between uninstalling Snapchat from your phone and deleting your account altogether. When uninstalling, you’re not deactivating your Snapchat account, just taking a little break from the incessant notifications and pressure of keeping Snapstreaks alive. So, to all the Snapchatters around the world, you’re still pretty much alive on the platform, but not actively making a contribution. They can look you up as usual and even send you Snaps if they feel like it.
How to get Snapchat back
If you want to return to your glory days and start using Snapchat as you used to, all you have to do is download the app from Google Play or App Store and log in with your old username and password.
The moment you do, you’ll be taken back to your account right away. Your friends — given that they are still active — memories, Snaps, and everything else would once again be at your fingertips.