One of the coolest social networking services in the business, Snapchat, takes great pride in its privacy features and granular control. It doesn’t make your friends list visible, gives you as much control as you want over your account, and even helps you reconnect with lost Snapchat friends.
With that thought in mind, today, we’ll be taking a look at one of the most popular topics of social media — unfriending a person. Today, we’ll check out whether the Snapchatter you unfriended is notified of your misdeeds.
Will Snapchat send a notification to the person you removed?
Similar to Facebook or Instagram, Snapchat doesn’t sell you out to the person you unfriended. They are not notified, and they won’t know for sure what has happened to them until they start digging around or try to send you a Snap.
What happens when you remove someone?
When you remove someone from Snapchat, they disappear from your friend list and can no longer see your location on the Snap Map. Since you’ve removed them from your friend list, you will no longer see your conversation history.
Depending on your preferences, they could stop seeing your stories and your Cameos Selfies. Your Snapchat points, aka Snapscore, would also become unavailable to them.
Even if you had an active conversation with them, all the Snaps they send would be in ‘Pending.’ They would still be able to look you up, but most of your profile would be locked to them.
Finally, you removing them from your friend list will not automatically remove you from theirs. They would even have the conversation history, with the message stating that they cannot send you messages until you add them back.
What is the difference between removing and blocking?
Removing a Snapchatter from your friends’ list is pretty, but it isn’t comparable to the destruction blocking brings.
When you unfriend someone, they stop appearing on your friends’ list, inbox, and Snap Map. Blocking, on the other hand, confines you to your separate worlds. You cannot look them up if you feel like adding them back again. Similarly, they, too, would be unable to find you on Snapchat and push a Snap if they want to. Snapchat will not send a notification, of course, but blocking someone is a lot more noticeable than simply unfriending them.
How to add someone back after removing them
Adding back a Snapchat user is the same as adding them for the first time. If you know their username, all you have to do is go to the ‘Search’ bar at the top of the screen and look them up.
When they show up under the ‘Add Friends’ banner, tap on the ‘Add’ button to add them back to Snapchat.
It is to be noted that while Snapchat doesn’t notify users when you remove them from your friend list, it would most definitely make a peep when you add them back. This means they would clearly see that you’ve added them back, which would reveal that you’d unfriended them a while back.
Can you get the Snaps sent during your timeout?
As we’ve discussed before, the Snaps someone sends you during the timeout — when you were not friends with the person — would be shown as pending. This simply means that Snapchat is waiting for you to add them back to your list and would connect the two of you when you do. So, yes, if and when you decide to add them back to your friend list, you would be able to get all the Snaps they sent you during your timeout.
Related: What is Snapchat compass?
Will you get your text history back after you re-add them?
Since you can get the Snaps they sent you during your “break,” it’s safe to assume that you would get your conversation history back as well. All you have to do is add them back as a friend, and your Snap relationship would be good as new. All your previous conversation would reappear, allowing you to pick up from where you left off.
- How to see if someone is active on Snapchat
- What Does SFS Mean on Snapchat? And How To Use It?
- What do various terms mean on Snapchat
- How to get Verified on Snapchat
- How to open a Snap without them knowing in 2020
- How to delete an unopened message in Snapchat
- How To Let Anyone Join Your Private Story on Snapchat