How to Notify Someone When Your Location Changes Using Find My on iPhone on iOS 15

Apple continues to refine its ecosystem and with the latest iteration of iOS, you and your friends will be able to know each other’s whereabouts at all times. One of the apps to receive a major overhaul on iOS 15 is Find My, which now offers the ability to let your friends know every time you arrive at a location or leave it in real-time.

In this post, we’ll help you configure Find My in such a way that your friend receives a notification whenever you arrive or leave a certain location on a given day.

Related: How to Turn Off Shortcut Notifications on iOS 15

How to notify someone when your location changes (4 steps)

The new Find My app on iOS allows you to send alerts to your friend when your location changes. To set up notifications for your friend when your location changes, do the below.

Step 1: Select the person whom you want to notify

open the Find My app, select the ‘People’ tab at the bottom, and tap on the friend you want to alert.

When you open a person’s name, you should see their location on the map as well as their address in the text under their name. To share location alerts with this person, tap on the ‘Add’ option under ‘Notifications’.

In the overflow menu that appears, select the ‘Notify <person>’ option.

Step 2. Select an alert condition

The ‘Notify <person>’ screen will now pop up on your screen. From inside the ‘When’ section, choose either ‘I Arrive’ or ‘I Leave’.

Step 3. Choose a location to mark for alerts

After that, choose a base location to set for sending alerts. Depending on how you configure it, your friend will get notifications when you leave or arrive at a chosen location. Among the locations you can choose, you can pick your friend’s current location, your current location, or select the ‘New Location’ option from under the ‘Location’ section.

If you select the last option, you will have the option to choose a custom location of your choice, somewhere where neither you nor your friend currently is located. You can add your preferred location by moving across the map on your screen and planting the red-colored location pin at your desired location.

Next, you will need to set a location radius, that is the area around which location alerts will be triggered. You can select one of three options to choose from – Small, Medium, or Large. Selecting a larger radius will notify you when you are near your set location rather than when you’re at the location.

Once you’ve added your location and selected a location radius, tap on ‘Done’ at the top right corner to confirm it.

Related: How to Change App Icons on iOS 15

Step 4. Select how often you want to send alerts

After you’ve chosen a location as a trigger, it’s time to decide how often you want your friend to be notified when you arrive or leave this location. If you choose the ‘Only Once’ option under ‘Frequency’, your friend will only be alerted once when you reach or go away from this location.

However, if you wish to alert someone every time you arrive at or leave the selected location, you can select the ‘Every Time’ option. When you select this option, your friend will get recurring notifications whenever you trigger a location alert.

How to add alerts for more than one location

Find My lets you create several alerts for your friends when you’re at multiple locations in such a way that your friend is notified when you arrive at or leave more locations than one. You can create separate alerts to share with the same person for when you reach or leave multiple locations by first going to Find My > People and selecting this person’s name.

If you’ve already created a location alert for this person, it should be visible under ‘Notify <person>’ inside the ‘Notifications’ section. To create more alerts with different criteria, tap on the ‘Add’ option here and repeat the same steps as you followed when creating the first alert.

How to turn off all notifications about you

At any point in time, you can disable all notifications you’re sharing about yourself with others.

For this, open the Find My app on your iPhone and select the ‘Me’ tab at the bottom right corner. On this screen, you’ll see a list of people who get notified about your location under the ‘Notifications About You’ section. From here, select the person you want to turn off the location notification for.

Alternatively, you can also select this person by going to Find My > People.

Select the notification you want to remove from inside the ‘Notify <person>’ section under ‘Notifications’. 

When the next screen loads up, tap on ‘Delete Notification’.

Confirm the process by selecting ‘Delete Notification’ in the overflow menu that appears.

That’s all there is to know about notifying someone when your location changes on Find My. 

RELATED

Posted by
Ajaay

Ambivalent, unprecedented, and on the run from everyone's idea of reality. A consonance of love for filter coffee, cold weather, Arsenal, AC/DC, and Sinatra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *