If I Turn Off Profile Views on TikTok, Will They Know?

The funny thing about Profile views is that while you enjoy the idea of getting information about who visited your profile, it lets others too find out when you visit their profile. It can be a bitter pill to swallow for you, if you are anything like us. But, things have to be fair in the world, right? Anyway, it matters to TikTok that the platform is about being just and unbiased.

Since you wish to know more about Profile views anyway before making a decision on whether to use it or not, we come bearing answers to the most commonly asked question about TikTok Profile views.

If I turn off profile views on TikTok, will they know?

Good news! They won’t know at all you have Profile views turned off or on. Wonder how? It is simple, Profile views is a dedicated feature that gives you the list of all the users who visited your profile over a period of 30-days.

This list is exclusive and private to each user. In more lucid terms, only you can see who viewed your profile. So, if you turn off profile views, you won’t be able to see who visited your profile. At the same time, you won’t show up in other people’s profile views list if you visit them with the feature disabled from your end.

They are not gonna know! How will they know, anyway? They are not mind-readers or oracles who can detect or predict the activity if you indeed visit them. This is all thanks to the fair principle followed by the Profile views feature to either allow both parties to view visiting activities when both have it enabled or block it from both if either has it disabled.

To conclude, if you have the Profile views feature turned off following which you visit someone’s profile, they won’t know about the activity (of the visit). Similarly, if they visit your profile during this period, they won’t be able to detect that you have the feature disabled. The result is that you will not be notified of their visit either.

Related: How to Add a Link to TikTok Bio in 2022: 3 Ways Explained

How does Tiktok profile view work

Profile views may be likened to a two-way glass. When you enable Profile views, you get to see who takes a peek at your profile through the ‘glass’ and when you take a peek at theirs, they will also be able to know about it.

Very fair, isn’t it? Perhaps not always, because if you are a silent lurker on the app who does some harmless but frequent profile visiting, then the Profile views feature might have you endure quite a bit of embarrassment.

Suppose you decide to turn off profile views, you might wish to switch out the glass for a one-way mirror that grants you an unrestricted view of the other side while the other gets blocked from viewing your profile. However, things do not work that way under Profile views on TikTok.

When you turn off Profile views, not only do you hide your footprints when you visit someone’s profile, you do not get informed if they visit yours.

Profile views on TikTok gives you a list of all the users who visited your profile over a period of 30-days. It is updated daily in this fashion to show the visitors’ history over the predetermined time range.

Related: Does TikTok Notify When You Save Someone’s Video?

What happens when you turn off Profile views on TikTok?

When you turn off profile views, you deny yourself the knowledge about who viewed your profile while concomitantly covering your track of visiting someone else’s profile.

All your previous profile visit history also immediately disappears making your name disappear from others’ profile views list. As long as you successfully refrain from turning it back on until 30 days have passed since your last visit to their profile, your visiting history will become an irretrievable and untraceable history.

Related: 7 Ways to Save TikTok Without Watermark

What happens when you turn on Profile view on TikTok?

When you turn on profile views, you gain access to a list of all visitors to your profile. At the same time, you also allow yourself to appear on others’ profile views list if you visit their profile.

The feature can be enabled and disabled as you wish; the profile views is a plain list of usernames arranged in the order of activity in reverse chronological order without any additional information like the date or time of visiting– that is, the most recent visitor’s username appears at the very top of the list followed by the one before.

Usernames won’t be repeated twice in the list, so, if you visit someone’s profile two days after the first visit, only the most recent visit shall be accounted for on the list based on the position on the list.

Is there any way to get past Profile views on TikTok?

If the feature is enabled by both you and the visitor or the one whose profile you visited, then there is no bypass to escape the prying eyes of the Profile views feature.

However, there are two ways to block this feature — one is obviously turning off Profile views and the other is blocking the other party. However, these can be considered desperate measures taken to hide the footprints of an unwanted or accidental profile visit.

Related: How to Save TikTok Videos Without Posting

How to turn on or off profile views on TikTok

Now, we shall walk you through the steps of enabling or disabling Profile views.

How to turn on Profile Views on TikTok

Launch TikTok on your device and tap on the Profile icon to go to your Profile.
Tap the eye icon located to the left of the three-lined menu button.
Hit Turn on to allow profile view history.
You will be redirected to a page that holds the list of your profile visitors in the past 30 days.
You will also get a notification in the Inbox when you activate the function on TikTok. If you tap it, you will be directly taken to the visitors’ history page shown in the screenshot above.
The screenshot below shows how a profile appears on your visitors’ history.
 
Turning on profile views history means that your profile will also show up on the visitor history of other users, who have enabled the same feature, for 30 days.
You remain in someone’s profile views list for a period of 30 days after you get automatically flushed out. So, if you want to remove yourself from someone’s profile views list during this period, one of the ways is to turn off Profile views.

How to turn off Profile Views on TikTok

Tap the profile icon on TikTok to go to your profile.

Hit the eye icon located near the top-right corner.

Tap the Gear icon to view the options.

Toggle off Profile view history, and hit close

Upon completion, the profile view history setting will revert to the original state; to reinstate the function, tap Turn On.

Hope that settles all your inhibitions about the feature and also answers all your questions. If you have any queries, please drop them in the comments!

RELATED

1 Comment

  1. Interesting post. I was wondering about this, so thanks for posting. Nice and useful article. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *