Microsoft Teams is one of the most popular tools that help teams collaborate from home. You can communicate via direct and group messages, video conference with your team members and share files that would otherwise require the use of third party service.
Microsoft Teams also offers you the ability to customize the interface according to your organization’s needs as well as send out guest links to your clients and collaborating members for temporary access to your projects. You can even revoke message editing permissions for your team members and even restrict them from deleting sent messages.
Are you looking to disable deletion and edition of sent messages on Microsoft Teams? Then you have landed on the right page. We have compiled a step-by-step guide that will help you disable message deletion easily on your Microsoft Teams account.
This will allow you to keep the communication between your team members transparent while creating a more equal working environment. Let’s take a look at how you can disable message deletion in Microsoft Teams.
How to remove permission to edit and delete sent messages
Step 1: On Microsoft Teams, select the Teams menu in the left pane.
Step 2: Select the desired team that you want to disable message deletion for and click on the ‘3-dot’ menu icon beside its name.
Step 3: Select ‘Manage teams’. This will take you to the editing tab for your team.
Step 4: Find and select the ‘Settings’ option as shown below.
Step 5: Scroll to the bottom until you find a checkbox titled ‘Give members the option to delete their messages’. Uncheck the checkbox. Message deletion ability should now be disabled for all your team members of that specific team.
To block users from editing the messages, uncheck the box for the option “Give members the option to edit their messages‘. Users cannot edit their messages once sent.
How to remove edit/delete sent messages permission for all Teams
If you are looking to disable message deletion for all your teams, then you will have to follow the same procedure for each team. There is no way to disable this feature for all your teams at once.
Who can edit and delete sent messages on Microsoft Teams
Well, both the guest users and member users can edit/delete the sent messages in your team in Microsoft Teams. If you remove the permission as given above, this will remove the capability for both the guest users and member users in that team.
How to know if a message was deleted?
Nope. For the recipient(s), the deleted message is removed completely right away. For the sender, it is replaced by the text ‘This message has been deleted‘ and the undo button, clicking which will bring back the deleted message.
How to know if a message was edited?
Yes, Microsoft Teams puts the ‘Edited‘ remark right after the message. But it cannot highlight what was added/deleted from the message. You can’t see the original message either.
How has your experience been with Microsoft Teams? Were you able to revoke message deletion permissions for your team? Feel free to share your thoughts and views with us in the comments section below.