Tips

How To View All Your Sent Friend Requests On The New Facebook UI

Facebook has been around for such a long time, that sometimes we forget who we have added to our Friends list. When you send a Friend Request on Facebook, you need to wait for the other person to accept it until you can view their profile and interact with them.  While Facebook does notify you when someone accepts your request, there is no way of knowing if someone simply ignores it! In this article, we will cover how you can find all the friend request you have sent over the years!

What is a Friend Request on Facebook?

Facebook lets you customize the privacy of your account to a great deal. Not only can you customize who can view your profile, but also each individual post. When you want to connect with a person on Facebook, you need to send them a Friend Request., This sends a notification to the other user. They can then decide whether they would like to accept it or not. If they do, you will be added to their Friends list and will be able to view all their content that is shared with the ‘Friends’ privacy setting.

How to view your sent Friend Requests on Facebook

We all know how to view Friend Requests from other users. But not many people know that you can actually view all the Friend Requests that you have ever sent that were not accepted. These requests are listed chronologically by the date they were sent.

On iPhone and Android app

To view your sent Friend Requests using the Facebook Mobile app, launch the app, and tap the hamburger menu in the top right corner. Now select ‘Friends’ from the menu.

You should see a list of all the users that have sent you Friend Requests. Tap ‘See All’ beside ‘Friend Requests’.

Now tap the three dots in the top right corner. Tap ‘View Sent Requests’ to pull up a list of all the Friend Requests you have ever sent on Facebook that have not yet been accepted.

On PC

You can view your sent Friend Requests on a PC by visiting the Facebook website using a web browser.

Once you have logged in with your credentials, click ‘Friends’ in the left side panel (new UI).

On the left side, you will see a list of all the users that have sent you Friend Requests. Click ‘See All’ beside ‘Friend Requests’.

Now click ‘View sent requests’ in the left panel. This will pull up a list of all the Friend Requests you have ever sent on Facebook that have not yet been accepted.

Can you cancel a sent Friend Request?

Yes, you can! Facebook lets you cancel a Friend Request at any point if the user has not accepted it. Canceling a Friend Request will not notify the user in any way. However, if you recently sent the Friend Request and the person has seen the notification, then they may notice when the notification disappears.

You can easily cancel a Friend Request by using the guide above to locate your sent Friend Requests and then selecting ‘Cancel Request’ beside the name of the user.

How long do Friend Requests last?

Friend Requests do not have a date of expiry like your frozen burrito. They will remain on a Facebook account until you manually delete them or cancel the request. You can also view how old a sent Friend Request is on the Facebook mobile app by using the method above.

The date beside the user’s name indicates how long ago you sent the Friend Request. This is only visible on the mobile app.

How many times can you send a Friend Request?

Once you send a Friend Request on Facebook, you cannot send another one to the same person until you cancel the previous one. When you cancel a Friend Request, the person will not be notified. However, when you send them a new one they will receive a notification.

There is no limit to how many times you can cancel a Friend Request and send a new one to the same person. When you send a new Friend Request, your name will rise to the top of the list of their Friend Requests.

We hope this article helped. If you have any queries, feel free to reach out to us in the comments below. 

Related: