Tips

How To Clear Your Play Queue On Spotify On iPhone, Android And PC

There are many reasons to use Spotify. Some like it for its vast collection of songs, artists, and genres while some like the way the service offers them recommendations. But perhaps one feature that goes unappreciated is its Play Queue option, which lets you know what Spotify will play for you next.

Spotify decides which tracks it is going to play next through Play Queue. The songs you add manually to the Play Queue will be of higher priority than the ones that are played automatically when listening to an album or a playlist.

But what if you’re starting your day afresh and you want to clear your queue to add new ones to play? The following post will help you clear your Play Queue list on Spotify across different devices.

Related: How to hide a song on a Spotify Playlist

How to clear your Play Queue on Spotify

Follow the steps below to clear your Spotify queue list on the device that you’re listening to music.

On Android

To clear queue on Spotify on your Android device, open Spotify and go to the current playback screen by tapping on the song title that shows up at the bottom of the screen, just above the ‘Home’, ‘Search’, and ‘Your Library’ tabs.

You will now be taken to the playback screen. On this screen, tap on the queue icon from the bottom right corner of the screen. If you’re using an older version of Spotify, then the queue icon will be available at the top right corner.

Since Spotify doesn’t offer a way to clear your listening queue in one go, you will have to manually remove songs that are present in your queue. Inside your Play Queue list, select the songs you want to remove from the queue by tapping the circles adjacent to each song title.

After you have selected all songs in your queue, tap on the ‘Remove’ button at the bottom left corner. All songs in your Spotify queue will now be cleared.


Related: How to set Spotify, YouTube Music, and Pandora as alarm

On iOS

You can also clear your playback queue on Spotify on your iPhone or iPad app. To do so, open Spotify and head over to your current playback screen which you can do by tapping on the song title at the bottom of your Spotify home screen or by playing a random song on the app.

Inside the playback screen, tap on the queue icon at the bottom right. Tapping on the queue icon will take you to a list of songs that is already in the queue.

Similar to its app on Android, the Spotify app on iOS also doesn’t have a ‘Clear queue’ or ‘Remove all’ button to remove all songs in queue. To clear the songs in Spotify’s Play Queue, select the songs in the queue by tapping on the circles adjacent to each song title in the queue.

Once you’ve selected all the songs in your queue, tap on the ‘Remove’ button at the bottom left to clear the Spotify queue completely.

On a Desktop (Mac/Windows) app

Spotify also has an app on both Windows and Mac computers, allowing users to listen seamlessly. Unlike its app interfaces on iOS and Android, Spotify’s desktop client offers a ‘Clear’ button to remove all songs in your current playback queue.

To clear your Spotify queue on Spotify’s desktop client, open the Spotify app on your Mac or Windows computer.

Click on the queue icon at the bottom right, as highlighted in the screenshot below. This will now open your Spotify Play Queue.

If you want to remove all your songs from the queue, click on the ‘Clear’ button that will appear in the same row as the ‘Next in Queue’ section on the Play Queue screen.

All songs from your Spotify Queue will now be removed and Spotify will now directly play songs from the album or playlist you’re currently listening to.

When using Spotify web player

Unfortunately, there’s no way to clear queue on Spotify if you’re using the service on the web. When you click on the queue icon inside Spotify’s web player, you will be able to see the tracks that are in the queue and also the ones that will play after your current queue.

The only way to clear your entire queue will be to play the last track on the queue which you can do by double-clicking on it.

Related: