The app recently published a new beta version which included the much teased timed photos and videos feature. Termed as ‘View Once’, this option in Whatsapp has been quite talked about and many people have been itching to get their hands on it. So what is the new ‘View Once‘ feature and what exactly happens when you use it? Let’s find out!
What is ‘View Once’ on WhatsApp?
View Once is a timed photo and video option in Whatsapp’s new beta that allows you to share one-time photos and videos. The media files shared using this feature will be deleted from the chat history and local storage, once viewed by the recipient.
This feature has been available in Snapchat since its release and has been one of its main USPs. Whatsapp’s inclusion of this feature is surely going to entice users that have been using Snapchat solely for this purpose.
But there are some privacy concerns when you consider both platforms. Let’s find out what happens when you use the ‘View Once’ feature.
What happens when you set a photo or video to ‘View Once’?
When you send a ‘View Once’ photo or video, the recipient receives it like any other media file. Upon opening the file, the recipient will be notified that it is a ‘View Once’ photo or video share and will be able to view it once on their device.
Additionally, just like any other WhatsApp message, you will be notified, once the ‘View Once’ media file has been ‘Delivered’, ‘Opened’, and ‘Seen’.
Does WhatsApp notify you when someone screenshots or screen-records your View Once media?
But what happens when somebody tries to screenshot or screen record your shared file? Sadly nothing, Whatsapp does not have a screengrab detection feature which means that your ‘View Once’ shared files are still vulnerable to screenshots and screen records.
But as this is the first release of ‘View Once’ on a beta version, we could see a detection feature in the subsequent updates. We shall keep this post updated in case anything turns up.