What Happens If I Delete TikTok App or Account?

There can be such a thing as too much social media and when that happens, it becomes necessary to take at least a temporary break if not a complete one. While social media platforms do have a way of making us lose complete sense of time, the comatose effect of TikTok content is on another level. Of course, this is not surprising since both the format and the content are heavily addictive. But this does compel the user to go through a Tiktok detox, sometimes even permanently. Nevertheless, whether it is temporary or permanent, TikTok does provide a way to delete one’s account. Here’s everything you need to know about what happens when you delete your TikTok app. 

What happens when the TikTok app is deleted?

Unlike when you delete your TikTok account, deleting the app will not have any major repercussions. One of the biggest user concerns is that deleting a TikTok account will cause all their previously existing videos to get deleted. Users also worry that deleting the app equates to deleting their account data and existing fan base. None of those things happen when you remove the app from your phone.

Once you reinstall the application from the Play Store or App Store, depending on your device, you simply need to log in to your TikTok account and you will be able to get access to your account, content, and userbase. Here’s everything you need to know about how to remove the TikTok app.

How to delete the TikTok app

You can only remove the TikTok app from your device. This is the move that can be considered equivalent to deleting the TikTok app. Here’s a look at how it’s done:  

On Android

Go to your app drawer and locate the TikTok app.

Long press the app icon till an additional menu appears. 

From the menu, tap the Uninstall icon.

A new window will open confirming your choice to uninstall the app, Tap OK here.  

On iPhone

Long-press the app till it starts to jiggle and a cross icon appears on the top-left side of the app. 

An additional window will open asking for confirmation, tap the Delete option in the window.

The app will now be uninstalled. 

Does deleting the TikTok app delete your TikTok account?

No, deleting the TikTok app does not delete your TikTok account. Like we mentioned previously, the app and account have two separate processes. Removing the app from your phone will not have half the repercussions as when one would delete their TikTok account. Permanent deletion of one’s TikTok account implies a permanent deletion of their TikTok identity, the content uploaded and the followers of the account. It will be impossible to get back your account once the thirty-day grace period has passed and this will mean starting on TikTok from scratch. 

How to delete the TikTok account

Here’s everything you need to know about how to delete a TikTok account. 

From Phone

Open the TikTok app on your phone. 

At the bottom of the app, you will see the Me icon at the right end of the screen. Tap the Me icon

On your profile page, tap the horizontal three-dot menu icon that is present on the top-right portion of the screen. 

You will be lead to the Privacy and settings page where the first option under the Account section will be the Manage my account option.

The Delete Account option will appear at the bottom of the page, tap the Delete Account option.  

A verification code will be expected by TikTok before the final confirmation. Tap the Send code option to receive the code.

Once the code arrives, input it into the box that has been provided and then tap the Continue button.

Tap the Delete Account option once more.  

Your TikTok account will now be deleted.

From Browser

Log in to your TikTok account on the browser of your choice. Click the profile icon that is present on the top right portion of the screen and select the Settings option from the menu that opens. 

The Delete option will be available in the Manage account option, click the Delete button present here. 

Click the Continue option. 

You will be asked to verify your account now, click the Continue with Google option. If your Google Account was not registered with TikTok, then go ahead and use your phone number.

Select your Google Account from the additional window that opens.  

Click the Delete account option. 

A small window will option asking for one final confirmation, click the Delete button once again. 

How to get your TikTok account back after deleting 

There is a 30-day grace period provided by TikTok that allows a user to reactivate their TikTok account. Here’s how you can get back your TikTok account after deleting it. 

Go to the TikTok website and click the Login button.

Next click Continue with Google. If your Google Account was not registered with TikTok, then go ahead and use your phone number. 

Select your Gmail account from the additional window. 

TikTok will ask you if you want to reactivate your TikTok account, go ahead and click the Reactivate button.

Your TikTok account will now be reactivated again. 

How to delete your TikTok account without waiting for 30 days

There is no way to completely delete your TikTok account without having to wait for the 30 day grace period. TikTok is pretty clear about its policy to ensure that there is a 30-days grace period that will allow a user to make a comeback. So whether you like it or not, it’s a rule that everyone has to comply with. In case you are worried about not being able to resist the 30-day grace period, then delete both your account and the app itself so that you can avoid the temptation. Still, there is no stopping a user from reinstalling the app and reactivating the account. If you do end up changing your mind within the 30 day period, then you may have just needed a break and are ready to get back in the zone. So proceed with the required foresight. 

Will your videos be deleted if you uninstall the TikTok app?

No, your videos will not be deleted if you uninstall the TikTok app. The video will also be intact if you reactivate your TikTok account after 30-days.

Should you uninstall the TikTok app?

It is important to ask yourself why you want to uninstall the TikTok app. Do you need a temporary break from all the noise? Or are you looking for a more permanent solution? In which case deleting your account could be a better move. Nevertheless, the choice to uninstall your account is entirely up to you and for your own reasons, so proceed accordingly. 


That’s everything that you need to know about what happens when you delete a TikTok account. Do let us know in the comments in case you have any queries. Take care and stay safe!

Posted by
Rose

A helpful heart with a writer's soul and a serious case of nerdy brains. Pleased to meet you and welcome to my realm <3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *