Being blocked is arguably one of the most frustrating things in the world, and it’s even more frustrating if it happens on an engaging platform like Twitter. Like all other leading social networking sites, blocking on Twitter is a sneaky affair, which makes it all the more difficult to know when it happens. So, in an attempt to help you out, today, we’ll tell you the ways to check whether someone has blocked you on the platform
What does blocking do on Twitter?
Blocking works a little differently on Twitter than other platforms. On Facebook, blocking will keep you from mentioning the person anywhere on the platform. Twitter, on the other hand, will let you tweet to them but won’t tell the person that there are tweets pending for them. You, of course, wouldn’t have the option of seeing their Tweets, but you’d be able to participate in conversations where both of you are mentioned. Again, neither of you would be able to see each other’s replies.
Their tweets won’t be visible under a particular hashtag — even if they are using it extensively. They won’t see retweets of your tweets. And finally, you won’t get to send each other direct messages through Twitter. To summarize, Twitter would simply be erasing your existence from their life, making sure they never come across any of your activities on Twitter.
Will you be notified when someone blocks you on Twitter?
As already discussed, blocking on Twitter is a super sneaky operation, where discretion is of the utmost importance. So, whenever a user wishes to take a little break from your Twitter shenanigans by blocking you, Twitter won’t make a peep — notify you. Unless you thoroughly investigate, there won’t be a way for you to know when a user blocks you on the platform.
Related: How to get Twitter stories?
How to see if an account has blocked you?
If you think you’re seeing unusually less from an account lately or they aren’t responding to your tweets, you could make the bold choice of visiting their profile and seeing if they have actually blocked you. If they have, you’d see a message stating that this user has blocked you on Twitter.
See how many users have blocked you on Twitter?
Twitter, as we’ve mentioned, is a pretty subtle app. Neither will it let you know when a user has blocked you nor will it tell you how many users have chosen to remove you from their feed. Capitalizing on the situation, a service, called Blolook has come to the fore and will tell you exactly how many users have blocked you on the platform.
To know the statistic, simply go to the website and log in with your Twitter account.
After authorizing, the website will tell you how many users have blocked you on the next screen.
Is there a way to get a list of people who have blocked you?
Discreet as the platform is, Twitter is yet to give us a tool that would give us a handy list of people that have blocked us. Many websites claim to get the job done, of course, but most of them are scams and charge you a premium. However, if you’re willing enough, there is a workaround that’d tell you if a mutual contact has blocked you on Twitter.
How to find is a contact has blocked you
People who would block you on Twitter aren’t likely to be random — they are bound to have mutual accounts with you. So, first, you’ll need to find a user who might be following the suspected blocker. Go to their Twitter profile and click on “Following” to get the list of people they are following.
Depending on the number of the people they are following, it could take a while for you to reach the bottom of the screen.
Once you do, right-click on the page to save it as a “complete webpage”.
Now, open the HTML file in Notepad, and search for the keyword: “blocks-you”. If you get a hit, look for the Twitter username a couple of lines above the found text — “blocks-you”.
The username you get there is blocking you on Twitter. You’ll have to repeat this step for all the suspected accounts.
Related: Learn more about Twitter labels