If you’re someone who shares your Netflix account with your friends and family (like most of us), then you might be accustomed to the idea of multiple profiles. Netflix limits users to creating a maximum of five profiles in a single account but until recently, you were able to get into any of the profiles, if you had access to the account password.
To solve this and keep your watch history secure, Netflix now allows you to create Profile Lock for your profile inside Netflix.
What is Profile lock on Netflix?
Profile Lock allows you to set PIN codes for each individual profile inside a Netflix account that’s used by a bunch of friends or the members of your family. The move comes as a protective measure from letting anyone who has your Netflix account password from accessing your watching habits, recommendations, or viewing history.
With Profile lock on Netflix in place, others using your Netflix account will no longer be able to “accidentally” get into your profile. Prior to this, anybody with access to your account password was able to sign in to any of the profiles visible on the Welcome page.
Why do you need to lock your Netflix profile?
Here’s why you might want to enable Profile lock inside your profile on Netflix.
Avoid accidental profile sign-ins:
By enabling Profile lock on your account, you can stop others from getting into your profile accidentally by tapping on the wrong profile icon.
Prevent other users from viewing or modifying your watching habits:
At its core, profiles inside Netflix are present to store individual saved lists, watchlists, viewing history, and recommendations of every profile inside a single account. By creating profile PINs, only you will be able to view and access your profile on Netflix.
Stop children from accessing an adult profile:
With the ability to protect profiles using Profile Locks, you can prevent children in your house from accessing content that could be potentially inappropriate for their age level.
How to lock your Netflix profile?
You can create a Profile Lock PIN for your Netflix profile by following the steps below.
Step 1: Sign in to Netflix on a web browser and select your account profile.
Step 2: Inside your Netflix account home screen, hover over your profile icon at the top right, and select the ‘Account’ option.
Step 3: Inside the Account settings page, scroll down, locate the ‘Profile & Parental Controls’ section, and click on your Netflix Profile.
You will see the Profile lock option under your Netflix profile.
Step 4: Click on the Change button inside the Profile Lock section.
Step 5: Enter your Netflix account password on the next screen and click on ‘Continue’.
You will now be taken to the Profile Lock screen.
Step 6: Check the box adjacent to ‘Require a PIN to access <your> profile’.
Step 7: When you check the above option, you will be asked to enter a digit PIN you want to set as your Profile Lock.
Step 8 (Optional): You can also enable the option to create new profiles inside your Netflix account only using your Profile Lock PIN. You can do so by checking the box adjacent to ‘Require <your> PIN to add new profiles’.
Step 9: Click on the Save button at the bottom.
When your Profile is locked with a PIN, a lock icon will be visible next to your Netflix profile inside the Account settings page.
Why can’t I see Profile Lock on my account?
After you enabled Profile Lock for your profile on Netflix, you will be asked for a PIN that you set for yourself after tapping on the profile icon. If you don’t see the profile PIN prompt when singing in, then chances are that Profile Lock PINs are not compatible with your device, according to Netflix.
If you enabled Profile Lock on your profile but it doesn’t show up for some reason, then Netflix might allow users to enter your profile but nothing more than that. Besides signing into your profile, others won’t be able to play any title inside your locked profile.
Do you find the Profile Lock feature inside Netflix useful? Let us know in the comments below.