How to Turn Off Contact Sharing in iOS 17

What to know

  • To turn off NameDrop (contact sharing) on your iPhone, head to Settings > General > AirDrop > Turn off the toggle for Bringing Devices Together.
  • To control who you share your contact poster with during calls, head to Contacts > My Card > Contact Photo & Poster > Share Automatically > Always Ask.
  • To find out more about this process, check out the step-by-step guides below.

One of the most anticipated features of iOS 17 is how you share your contact with someone. Called NameDrop, it allows you to effortlessly exchange contacts with NameDrop, disseminate images, and conduct more nuanced transactions by simply aligning the top of your iPhone with another.

It makes sharing your contact information with someone much easier while ensuring you choose whether you only wish to receive their contact or share yours. However, if you own multiple iPhones or find NameDrop triggering randomly for any reason, then you might want to turn off NameDrop. Here’s how you can do that on your iPhone.

How to turn off the new contact sharing (NameDrop) in iOS 17 (2 ways)

You can choose to turn off NameDrop on your iPhone completely. This will disable the feature, and it won’t be activated unless you re-enable it again. On the other hand, you might be referring to contact poster sharing, which happens when you call someone who owns an iPhone. In such cases, you can adjust your privacy options to control better who can view your contact poster. Follow either method below to help you disable contact sharing depending on your preferences. Let’s get started!

Method 1: Turn off contact sharing (NameDrop) completely

Here’s how you can turn off NameDrop on your iPhone.

Open the Settings app and tap on General.

Now tap on AirDrop.

Tap and turn off the toggle for Bringing Devices Together under START SHARING BY at the bottom.

When turned off, the toggle will turn grey.

And that’s it! NameDrop is now completely turned off for your iPhone, and it won’t be triggered the next time you bring the top of your iPhone closer to someone else’s.

Method 2: Change your contact sharing privacy options

If you want to turn off contact poster sharing, then you can choose ‘Always Ask’ under privacy options. This will help you choose each time who can view your contact poster, in which case you can simply choose not to share it with anyone. Follow the steps below to help you along with the process. 

Open the Contacts app on your iPhone and tap on your My Card at the top.

Tap on Contact Photo & Poster.

Tap Share Automatically.

Tap and select Always Ask.

And that’s it! You will now be asked whether you wish to share your contact poster with someone each time you call them or if they call you, regardless of whether they are on your contacts list.

We hope this post helped you easily turn off contact sharing on your iPhone. If you face any issues or have any more questions, feel free to drop them in the comments below.

Posted by
Mudit

Spectroscopic collection of human cells trying to pave a path via words.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *