iOS 16 introduced the ability to retract sent messages using the ‘Undo Send’ feature and it has been a boon for many users. This feature helps save time, and avoid messages sent in wrong conversation threads and other mishaps that can have a huge impact on your personal or professional life.
But what about privacy? Can you know if someone deletes sent messages from a conversation thread? Let’s find out!
How to Know if someone used ‘Undo Send’ on a sent message in iMessage
Once someone deletes or removes a sent message from an iMessage conversation, you will see a message for the same. This message will read [phone number/contact name] unsent a message.
This message will appear in the position of the retracted message and will act as a placeholder for the retracted message in the conversation.
This will help you easily identify when and where a message was deleted from a conversation thread in iMessage.
Here are a few commonly asked questions about deleted messages in iMessage that should help you get up to date.
How long do you have to recall a sent message?
Apple says you have 15 minutes from the time of sending your message to unsend the same. Once this time frame ends, you won’t have the “Undo Send’ option to recall your message in the context menu of the message.
Can other users view the contents of a retracted message?
Yes, older devices running older versions of iOS will still be able to view retracted messages as this feature is not available on those devices (at least in our testing as of now, June 08, 2022). However, all devices running iOS 16 or later won’t be able to view the contents of your retracted message as the message will be removed their device.
We hope this post helped you easily identify deleted messages in an iMessage conversation. If you have any more questions, feel free to drop them in the comments below.