How to Leave a Twitter Circle

Twitter has introduced a new way to interact with people closer to you on the platform – using Twitter Circle. Anyone on Twitter will be able to create a Twitter circle where they can add people they often interact with or share similar thoughts. Unlike a regular tweet, tweets you post inside Twitter Circle will only be visible to people whom you’ve added to the Twitter Circle and only these chosen few can reply to these tweets.  

If you don’t wish to be part of a circle you were added to, the following post should help you leave one on Twitter. 

Is there a Leave button for a Twitter Circle?

No. Twitter currently doesn’t offer a Leave button to exit a Twitter circle you were added to. When someone adds you to their Twitter Circle, you cannot leave them directly. However, there are other actions you can undertake to get yourself unlisted from someone’s circle on the platform. 

How to leave a Twitter Circle

When someone has added you as part of their Twitter circle and you don’t wish to see or interact with their Twitter Circle Tweets, there are ways you can leave them. 

Method #1: Mute tweets from this Twitter account

The easiest way to avoid seeing Twitter Circle tweets is by muting someone on the platform. When you mute someone on Twitter, all their tweets including the ones they posted to their Twitter Circle won’t show up in your timeline. This is one way to prevent seeing Twitter Circle tweets from someone without needing to unfollow or block them. 

To leave someone’s Twitter Circle using this method, open the Twitter app and go to the profile of the person who added you to their Twitter Circle. Inside the user’s profile, tap on the 3-dots icon at the top right corner. 

In the overflow menu that appears, select Mute @<username>

You’ll now see a prompt on your screen asking you to confirm your action. To proceed, tap on Yes, I’m sure

The selected Twitter profile will now be muted from your Twitter timeline. Although you will continue to be a part of their Twitter Circle, you won’t see any of those tweets or be notified about them. 

Method #2: Unfollow the Twitter Circle creator

If you follow a person who added you to their Twitter Circle, one way to get removed from their circle is to unfollow their Twitter profile. When you do that, Twitter will automatically remove you from their Twitter Circle without notifying the creator of the circle. You can still view their regular tweets if their account is set to Public by simply visiting their profile at any time. 

Unfollowing someone doesn’t guarantee that you’ll be permanently unlisted from their circle since the circle’s creator can always add you back to their circle in the future, even if you don’t follow them again. 

To leave someone’s Twitter Circle using this method, open the Twitter app and go to the profile of the person who added you to their Twitter Circle. Inside the user’s profile, tap on the Following button at the top right corner. 

Now, tap on Unfollow @<username> that appears below. 

You will now be unfollowed from this person’s profile and will no longer be part of their Twitter Circle. 

Method #3: Block the person who added you

While the above option can help you remove yourself from someone’s Twitter Circle, it doesn’t ensure that you won’t be part of their Twitter Circle later. To prevent this user from adding you back to their Twitter Circle once and for all, you will need to an extreme measure of blocking their Twitter profile. 

When you block someone on Twitter, your account will automatically get unlisted from their circle and they won’t add you back to their circle anytime in the future. One thing to keep in mind is that you won’t be able to see any of their tweets (even the ones posted publicly) when you block someone on Twitter. 

To leave someone’s Twitter Circle using this method, open the Twitter app and go to the profile of the person who added you to their Twitter Circle. Inside the user’s profile, tap on the 3-dots icon at the top right corner. 

In the overflow menu that appears, select Block @<username>

You’ll now see a prompt on your screen asking you to confirm your action. To proceed, tap on Block

The selected Twitter profile will now be blocked from viewing your account and your tweets and you will no longer be part of their Twitter Circle. The user also won’t be able to re-add you back as part of their Twitter Circle. 

That’s all you need to know about leaving someone’s Twitter Circle.

Posted by
Ajaay

Ambivalent, unprecedented, and on the run from everyone's idea of reality. A consonance of love for filter coffee, cold weather, Arsenal, AC/DC, and Sinatra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.